When Breath Becomes Air

In Stock

Sku: B00XSSYR50

Buy product

Compare

#1 NEW YORK Instances BESTSELLER • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely followed memoir finds hope and sweetness within the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic younger neurosurgeon makes an attempt to reply the query What makes a existence worth residing?

NAMED One among THE Finest BOOKS OF THE YEAR With the aid of 
THE WASHINGTON Put up • THE Big apple Instances • NPR

BOOKS FOR A higher Existence AWARD FINALIST

At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of finishing a decade’s worth of coaching as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was clinically determined with stage IV lung melanoma. One day he was a physician treating the dying, and the subsequent he changed into a affected person struggling to reside. And similar to that, the future he and his spouse had imagined evaporated. When Breath Turns into Air chronicles Kalanithi’s transformation from a naïve clinical pupil “possessed,” as he wrote, “by the query of what, given that every one organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful existence” into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the mind, the most critical vicinity for human identification, and at last right into a affected person and new father confronting his personal mortality.

What makes existence value living within the face of demise? What do you do when the longer term, no longer a ladder towards your desires in existence, flattens out right into a perpetual latest? What does it imply to have a toddler, to nurture a brand new existence as one more fades away? These are one of the vital questions Kalanithi wrestles with during this profoundly relocating, exquisitely followed memoir.

Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while engaged on this e book, yet his words reside on as a ebook and a present to us all. “I started to recognize that coming head to head with my very own mortality, in a way, had modified nothing and every thing,” he wrote. “Seven phrases from Samuel Beckett started to repeat in my head: ‘I can’t go on. I’ll go on.’” When Breath Turns into Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the problem of facing demise and on the connection between medical professional and affected person, from an excellent author who grew to become each.

Praise for When Breath Turns into Air

“I be sure that completing this book after which forgetting about it is quite simply now not an alternative. . . . Part of this e book’s tremendous have an effect on comes from the obvious incontrovertible fact that its writer changed into such an excellent polymath. And half comes from the manner he conveys what came about to him—passionately working and striving, deferring gratification, waiting to reside, learning to die—so neatly.”—Janet Maslin, The Big apple Instances

“An emotional funding well value making: a relocating and considerate memoir of household, medicine and literature. It is, despite its grim undertone, accidentally inspiring.”The Washington Put up

“Possesses the gravity and knowledge of an historical Greek tragedy . . . [Kalanithi] delivers his chronicle in austere, beautiful prose. The e book brims with insightful reflections on mortality that are particularly poignant coming from a educated physician customary with what lies forward.”The Boston Globe

“Devastating and stunning . . . [Kalanithi] is so likeable, so relatable, and so humble, that you turn into immersed in his world and overlook the place it’s all heading.”USA Nowadays

“It’s [Kalanithi’s] unsentimental method that makes When Breath Turns into Air so fashioned—and so devastating. . . . Its best fault is that the e book, like his existence, ends an awful lot too early.”Entertainment Weekly

“Split my head open with its attractiveness.”—Cheryl StrayedAn Amazon Finest E book of January 2016: When Breath Turns into Air is an impressive study a stage IV lung melanoma prognosis during the eyes of a neurosurgeon. When Paul Kalanithi is given his prognosis he is pressured to look this sickness, and the system of being in poor health, as a patient fairly than a physician–the effect of his adventure isn’t just a glance at what residing is and the way it really works from a scientific standpoint, but the bits and bobs of what makes life depend. This coronary heart-wrenching e book will catch you from web page one and still have you ever thinking lengthy after the last sentence. –Penny Mann#1 NEW YORK Instances BESTSELLER • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely followed memoir finds hope and sweetness within the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic younger neurosurgeon makes an attempt to reply the query What makes a existence worth residing?

NAMED One among THE Finest BOOKS OF THE YEAR With the aid of 
THE WASHINGTON Put up • THE Big apple Instances • NPR

BOOKS FOR A higher Existence AWARD FINALIST

At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of finishing a decade’s worth of coaching as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was clinically determined with stage IV lung melanoma. One day he was a physician treating the dying, and the subsequent he changed into a affected person struggling to reside. And similar to that, the future he and his spouse had imagined evaporated. When Breath Turns into Air chronicles Kalanithi’s transformation from a naïve clinical pupil “possessed,” as he wrote, “by the query of what, given that every one organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful existence” into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the mind, the most critical vicinity for human identification, and at last right into a affected person and new father confronting his personal mortality.

What makes existence value living within the face of demise? What do you do when the longer term, no longer a ladder towards your desires in existence, flattens out right into a perpetual latest? What does it imply to have a toddler, to nurture a brand new existence as one more fades away? These are one of the vital questions Kalanithi wrestles with during this profoundly relocating, exquisitely followed memoir.

Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while engaged on this e book, yet his words reside on as a ebook and a present to us all. “I started to recognize that coming head to head with my very own mortality, in a way, had modified nothing and every thing,” he wrote. “Seven phrases from Samuel Beckett started to repeat in my head: ‘I can’t go on. I’ll go on.’” When Breath Turns into Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the problem of facing demise and on the connection between medical professional and affected person, from an excellent author who grew to become each.

Praise for When Breath Turns into Air

“I be sure that completing this book after which forgetting about it is quite simply now not an alternative. . . . Part of this e book’s tremendous have an effect on comes from the obvious incontrovertible fact that its writer changed into such an excellent polymath. And half comes from the manner he conveys what came about to him—passionately working and striving, deferring gratification, waiting to reside, learning to die—so neatly.”—Janet Maslin, The Big apple Instances

“An emotional funding well value making: a relocating and considerate memoir of household, medicine and literature. It is, despite its grim undertone, accidentally inspiring.”The Washington Put up

“Possesses the gravity and knowledge of an historical Greek tragedy . . . [Kalanithi] delivers his chronicle in austere, beautiful prose. The e book brims with insightful reflections on mortality that are particularly poignant coming from a educated physician customary with what lies forward.”The Boston Globe

“Devastating and stunning . . . [Kalanithi] is so likeable, so relatable, and so humble, that you turn into immersed in his world and overlook the place it’s all heading.”USA Nowadays

“It’s [Kalanithi’s] unsentimental method that makes When Breath Turns into Air so fashioned—and so devastating. . . . Its best fault is that the e book, like his existence, ends an awful lot too early.”Entertainment Weekly

“Split my head open with its attractiveness.”—Cheryl Strayed

ProductTypeName

ABIS_EBOOKS

ProductGroup

eBooks

NumberOfPages

258

NumberOfItems

1

PublicationDate

2016-01-12

Publisher

Random House

Title

When Breath Becomes Air

Studio

Random House

ReleaseDate

2016-01-12

Manufacturer

Random House

Languages
EANList
EAN

9780812988413

Creator

Abraham Verghese

Binding

Kindle Edition

Edition

1

EISBN

9780812988413

Label

Random House

ISBN

0812988418

Format

Kindle eBook

Author

Paul Kalanithi

Back to Top
%d bloggers like this: